McKearn Program – Closing Thoughts – Blog 8

Fellow McKearn fellows, we are almost done! Congratulations. 🙂

To help review and reflect, here are some of the events and tasks that we have completed this summer:

–          Etiquette lunch at the Mid-America Club on the top floor of the Aon Center

–          Leadership, ethics, research, and writing workshops

–          Trips to visit alumni at the Arts Club of Chicago, Nanophase, and more

–          Weekend retreat to Loredo Taft in Oregon, IL

–           Toured La Rabida hospital with Congresswoman Kelly

All of this, and more, we accomplished on top of completing an independent research project, and creating a poster/presentation and paper to show for it.

For me personally, I would have to say that the most inspiring aspect of this summer was touring the hospital with the congresswoman. Learning from the administrators how the hospital is run, and seeing first-hand the benefits that it provides to the children was simply inspiring. Seeing how everyone used their skills in all types of fields (from business, to nursing, to clowning) to help make a difference in the lives of these children, really demonstrated how much we can make the world a better place when we use our various skills and talents to work together. I know that probably sounds totally cliché, but that is what I have taken away from this experience as an overarching theme. I have seen this come through in our time living and working together, our excursions, and our talks with mentors and alumni. And, I do truly believe that our assisting in each other’s’ projects has helped to make them the best that each one can be.

This is what I plan on taking away from this summer as I continue throughout my academic, professional, and personal life. Remembering the importance of everyone’s role and how they contribute to the overall good will help me to inspire others as a friend, coworker, and leader. So, thank you, fellow McKearn fellows, McKearn administrators, alumni, faculty, mentors, and friends, for your contributions to my project. Although you may not believe it, I see little pieces of all of you in my work from this summer; and, that has helped to make my project and myself better than they have ever been.

Leave a Reply

