McKearn Program – Leadership Practices – Blog 6

Throughout the McKearn program, we have been reading sections of the book, The Leadership Challenge. One aspect of the book that we have been focusing on is the five practices of leadership that the book presents. According to the book, these practices are key components to successful leadership, and are therefore practices that we have been studying and working on in an effort to improve our individual leadership. The “Five Practices of Leadership” presented in the book are the following:

  • Model the Way
  • Inspire a Shared Vision
  • Challenge the Process
  • Enable Others to Act
  • Encourage the Heart

For me, personally, the hardest practice of these has been challenging the process. For one, challenging the process requires some form of confrontation, and that is something that I have always tried to avoid. Also, I had it hammered into me from a very young age that authority is to be respected, not challenged. Because of these two aspects of my life, challenging the process can feel inherently contradictory. However, if I feel strongly enough about an issue, I am confident in the fact that I can, and will, stand up for what I believe in. Although I already knew this fact, the time in the McKearn program has helped to make that more clear. I have learned the value of strength in numbers, because through multiple people agreeing on a topic, I can feel assured in the decision or opinion we share. This confirmation that others share an opinion helps me to feel more capable in challenging the process when necessary, and I am glad that I have learned that through the program and the support of my fellow McKearns.

One thought on “McKearn Program – Leadership Practices – Blog 6

  1. Pingback: McKearn Program – Leadership Practices – Blog 6 | McKearn Fellows

Leave a Reply

